“Dumfries House is is one of Britain’s most beautiful stately homes & one of Scotland’s
best kept heritage secrets”
A must see on any visit to our hotel is Dumfries House. Just north of the Hotel and a great way to spend a day exploring this magnificent House.
Dumfries House was in danger of collapse but luckily In 2007, The Prince of Wales, headed a group of charities and heritage bodies to purchase the house, its contents and adjoining land, in order to keep this historical jewel intact and accessible to the public.
With its sumptuous interiors and magnificent furnishings, all set in two thousand acres of land, there is something to delight and enchant visitors of all ages.
Built between 1754 and 1759 for the 5th Earl of Dumfries, and with a unique collection of Chippendale furniture, Dumfries House has been described as an 18th century time-capsule since the principal rooms and their contents have remained virtually unchanged for 250 years.
When visiting Dumfries House It is always best to book in advance (which we can do for you directly from the Hotel) As admission is by guided tour only, and they are at set times throughout the day.
March – October:
The House opens Sunday-Friday (Saturday, subject to availability). Tours available from 11am. Last admission 3.30pm.
November – February:
The House opens on Saturday and Sunday. Tours at 11am, 12.15pm and 1.45pm only.
Range in price from £4 for children to Adults on “The Grand Tour” at £12.50
Findining Dumfries House:
The entrance is on the south side of the estate off the A70 Cumnock to Ayr road. Brown tourist road signs are situated locally.
SAT NAV: post code KA18 2NJ.
Parking areas are quite well signposted. Limited car parking is provided around the house with an overflow area approximately 250 meters from the House.
Disabled car parking is available in close proximity to the House.